brought to you by Kollel Iyun Hadaf of Yerushalayim
& Revach l'Neshamah -

Previous Daf
Ask the Kollel
Ask the


1. The Mishnah discusses which grains may be used to fulfill the Mitzvah of Matzah on Pesach.
2. The Mishnah also discusses different categories of grain that may be used.
3. Rebbi Yochanan ben Nuri says that rice is considered like the five types of grain on Pesach.
4. Reish Lakish: Dough mixed solely with wine, oil, or honey does not become Chametz.
5. Grains mixed with fruit juice do not become Chametz.


1. Matzah may be made out of any of the five grains: wheat, barley, spelt, rye, and oats.
2. For example, one fulfills his obligation with Demai (doubtfully tithed grain), Ma'aser Rishon from which Terumas Ma'aser was taken, Ma'aser Sheni (in Yerushalayim), and Terumah. He does not fulfill his obligation with untithed grain or Ma'aser Sheni that from which Terumas Ma'aser was not taken.
3. Unlike our Mishnah, he maintains that one fulfills the Mitzvah of Matzah with rice Matzos and that one is liable for eating rice that becomes Chametz. The Chachamim say that rice cannot become Chametz.
4. The Gemara first says that this is derived from the verse, "Do not eat on it Chametz," implying that any grain or dough which one may use to fulfill the Mitzvah of Matzah can become Chametz. Since one does not fulfill the Mitzvah of Matzah with doughs mixed with these liquids, they also cannot become Chametz.
5. The Gemara concludes that this is the main reason for Reish Lakish's opinion.

Next Daf

Index to Revach for Maseches Pesachim


KIH Logo
D.A.F. Home Page

Other Masechtos  •  Join Mailing Lists  •  Ask the Kollel
Dafyomi Calendar  •  חומר בעברית
Donations  •  Feedback  •  Dafyomi Links