brought to you by Kollel Iyun Hadaf of Yerushalayim
& Revach l'Neshamah - http://www.revach.net
1. One is permitted to benefit from the flab of an animal, even one which is forbidden, with the exception of the flab of an animal of Avodah Zarah.
2. According to the Chachamim, one is permitted to derive benefit from the fish oil of Nochrim.
3. The Chachamim in Eretz Yisrael did not reveal the reason for a new decree for twelve months.
4. The prohibition against drinking a liquid that was left out unguarded does not apply if it dried out or if it became old.
5. Rebbi Chanina maintains that the cheese of a Nochri may not be eaten because of the concern that milk from a non-kosher animal was mixed into it.
6. According to Shmuel, the cheese of a Nochri may not be eaten because it is curdled with the hide of a Neveilah. Rav Ada bar Ahavah maintains that the reason is that it is brushed with pig fat.
7. According to Rav Chisda, the cheese of a Nochri may not be eaten because it is curdled with vinegar. Rav Nachman bar Yitzchak maintains that it is curdled with the sap of the fruit of Orlah.
8. According to Rebbi Eliezer, the sap of the branch of a tree of Orlah is forbidden. Rebbi Yehoshua disagrees.
9. It is forbidden to drink milk which was milked by a Nochri if a Yisrael did not watch him.
10. Bread which was baked by a Nochri is forbidden.
11. There is a disagreement about whether bread baked commercially by a Nochri is permitted.
A BIT MORE
1. The flab is not considered part of the animal. However, an animal of Avodah Zarah is an exception because of the severity of Avodah Zarah.
2. According to the Chachamim, even though the Nochrim mix wine into the fish oil, one is permitted to benefit from it because the wine is nullified in the fish oil.
3. There was a concern that one of the Chachamim may disagree with the logic of the decree and disregard it.
4. We are not concerned that a snake injected venom into it. In such a case the venom would not allow it to dry out or become old.
5. Although milk from a non-kosher animal cannot be made into cheese, there is a concern that the remnants of the non-kosher milk might remain in the holes in the cheese.
6. The hide is not nullified in the milk according to Shmuel, because something that is Ma'amid (essential for the cheese making process) is not nullified.
7. The vinegar of a Nochri is forbidden since it may have been poured to an Avodah Zarah while it was still wine. Orlah of a Nochri is forbidden just like the Orlah of a Yisrael.
8. Rebbi Yehoshua agrees that the sap of a fruit of Orlah is forbidden.
9. There is a concern that milk from a non-kosher animal may have been mixed in.
10. The Rabanan were concerned that if the bread of a Nochri would be permitted, it would foster a closeness between Jews and Nochrim and would lead to intermarriage.
11. Rebbi Chalbo maintains that even according to the opinion that commercially baked bread is permitted, it is permitted only if there is no commercially baked bread of a Yisrael available. Rebbi Yochanan maintains that according to the opinion that it is permitted, it applies only in the fields, and not in the cities, because of the concern if intermarriage.
Next Daf Index to Revach for Maseches Avodah Zarah