brought to you by Kollel Iyun Hadaf of Yerushalayim
& Revach l'Neshamah - http://www.revach.net
12TH CYCLE DEDICATION
NEDARIM 53 - (6 Adar) - dedicated by the Feldman family in memory of their father, the Tzadik Harav Yisrael Azriel ben Harav Chaim (Feldman) of Milwaukee.
The Tana Kama says that if someone makes a Neder prohibiting dates or Sitoniyos (sour grapes} he may eat date honey and vinegar made from Sitoniyos.
Rebbi Yehudah Ben Beseira holds that it is forbidden for him to eat the date honey and vinegar made from Sitoniyos.
Rebbi Shimon Ben Elazar says that if someone makes a Neder from something that is not usually eaten but the byproduct is usually eaten only the byproduct is forbidden. (1)
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting wine or honey or vinegar he may eat apple wine, date honey and vinegar made from Sitoniyos. (2)
If someone makes a Neder in Eretz Yisrael that he will not eat oil he may not eat olive oil but he may eat sesame oil. (3)
If someone makes a Neder that he will not eat oil in a place that both olive and sesame oil are used, they are both forbidden, even if one oil is more commonly used than the other. (4)
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting vegetables during the first six years of Shemitah only cultivated vegetables are forbidden.
If a Neder is made on Shevi'is prohibiting vegetables only wild vegetables are forbidden. (5)
In a place that vegetables are brought from Chutz la'Aretz on Shevi'is both cultivated and wild vegetables are forbidden.
It is a Machlokes Tana'im whether it is permitted to bring vegetables from Chutz la'Aretz on Shevi'is. (6)
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting cabbage he may not eat Asparagus (a type of cabbage), but if he makes a Neder not to eat Asparagus he may eat cabbage.
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting Gerisim he may not eat a dish made from Gerisim, but Rebbi Yosi argues. (7)
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting a dish made from Gerisim he may eat Geisim but not garlic; Rebbi Yosi holds that he is permitted to eat garlic.
Rebbi Shimon Ben Gamliel says that if someone makes a Neder prohibiting Chitah or Gris it is forbidden to bake wheat but he may eat it raw. (8)
If he makes a Neder prohibiting Chitah Chitim or Gris Gerisim it is forbidden both to eat them raw and to use them for baking.
A BIT MORE
1. Therefore according to Rebbi Shimon Ben Elazar even though he made a Neder prohibiting Sitoniyos, the Sitoniyos is permitted and the byproduct is forbidden. If both the fruit and the byproduct are normally eaten, such as dates and its honey, whether he made a Neder prohibiting the dates or he made a Neder prohibiting the honey, both the dates and the honey are forbidden.
2. These items are not called wine, oil, or honey without an accompanying name.
3. If someone makes a Neder in Bavel that he will not eat oil he may not eat sesame oil but he may eat olive oil.
4. Because it is a Safek Isur and he must be stringent.
5. Cultivating the land is forbidden on Shevi'is and therefore he did not have cultivated vegetables in mind.
6. According to the Tana Kama it is forbidden because of the concern that some dirt will be brought in with the vegetables and the dirt of Chutz la'Aretz is Tamei.
7. In the place where the Tana Kama lived a dish of Gerisim is called Makfeh d'Gerisim and therefore it is forbidden, however in the place of Rebbi Yosi it is just called Makfeh and therefore it is permitted.
8. If someone makes a Neder prohibiting Chitim or Gerisim it is forbidden to eat them raw but they may used for baking.
HONEY AND WHEY
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting dates or Sitoniyos (sour grapes} he may eat date honey and vinegar made from Sitoniyos. The Rashba asks that earlier the Gemara says even though everyone agrees that if the whey from milk is called Kuma d'Chalav it is forbidden. The Rashba answers that when the honey is produced from the date it is a complete change from what it was before. However the whey of the milk never changed, the whey always existed just that it was originally mixed with the milk and it was subsequently separated from the milk.
If someone makes a Neder prohibiting dates he may eat date honey. Even though it is called date honey it is permitted because it changed its form. Furthermore it is only called date honey in order to differentiate it from other types of honey. If someone makes a Neder not to eat honey he is permitted to eat dates. If someone makes a Neder not to eat Sitoniyos he may eat the vinegar from Sitoniyos. (Shulchan Aruch YD 217:13)
Next Daf Index to Revach for Maseches Nedarim