More Discussions for this daf
1. Three things that a woman is taken to task for; the Arba Amos Shel Halachah and Yir'as Shamayim 2. Pilpalta Bechochma? 3. Death at Childbirth
4. The Ya'avetz 5. [SIX] QUESTIONS YOU ARE ASKED WHEN YOU COME TO SHAMAYIM 6. The three Nochriim
7. HaZor Hakorev Yuma 8. perplexities 9. Divrei HaYamin 1: 4:42
10. More perplexities about Hillel 11. Seder Mishnayos 12. קדשים וטהרות

aurel m littmann asked:

In Shabbos 31a - Omar Reish Lokish...on the possuk from Yeshayhu 33-6, "V'hoyo emunas itecho..." the gm. darshans the psouk to refer to each of the sedorim i.e. emunas=zeroim,itecho=moed....Rashi does not seem to explain how Chochmas=Kodshim and Daas=Taharos other than to say that Da'as is greater than Chochmo?

How is kodshim=Chochmo and Taharos=Daas? and why would Taharos be greater than Kodshim?

Thank you for your insights.

The Kollel replies:

Not finding a clear explanation, I would like to suggest one of my own. Rashi here (DH "b'Piryah" and "Heivanta") clearly understands that Rava's Derasha regarding "Nasata v'Nasata b'Emunah etc.." is a parallel Derasha to the above Derasha of Reish Lakish. Accordingly, Kodshim corresponds to "Pilpalta b'Chochmah" -- "did you discuss the wisdom (Kodshim)?" while "Heivanta Davar mi'Toch Davar" -- "did you understand one thing from (another) thing?" corresponds to Taharos. This may very well be because much of Taharos involves sets of rules, involving things touching one another, thereby becoming Tamei. Based on the various rules of which Tumah is involved and what was the mode of conveying Tumah, one can determine what the Tumah status (Avi Avos, Av, Rishon, etc..) is of any object in that sequence. This is therefore called Da'as, meaning the art of understanding one thing from another. This is generally a more cerebral skill (especially for those that say the fourth Berachah in Shemoneh Esreh "Dei'ah Binah v'Haskel") than Chochmah, which means understanding that which is taught. Kodshim does not generally involve sequences, but delving deep into understanding the mechanisms of the Korbanos and their Avodah. This could possibly be why Kodshim is called Chochmah and Taharos is called Da'as.

All the best,

Yaakov Montrose