brought to you by Kollel Iyun Hadaf of Yerushalayim
& Revach l'Neshamah - http://www.revach.net
1. A Gid ha'Nasheh is considered a "Biryah" (a complete entity). Thereofre, if it is cooked with other tendons and cannot be identified and removed, it is not nullified in a majority, and all of the tendons are prohibited.
2. If a piece of Neveilah or a non-Kosher fish was cooked together with other meat or fish, if the Neveilah or non-Kosher fish cannot be identified, the entire mixture is prohibited.
3. Rabah bar bar Chanah maintains that a piece of Neveilah does not prohibit the food with which it is cooked, unless it is large enough to impart its taste to the gravy, sediment, and slices.
4. If a piece of Neveilah is cooked together with a piece of Kosher meat before other pieces are placed in the pot, the Kosher piece becomes a Neveilah and prohibits the pieces that are subsequently placed in the pot.
5. Rava states that even according to Rebbi Yehudah, who maintains that a prohibited item that is cooked with a permitted item of the same type is never nullified, if items of a different type are also cooked in the same pot, we direagard the permitted item of the same type, and if the permitted item of a different type is sufficient to nullify the prohibited item, everything is permitted.
6. The prohibition of Gid ha'Nasheh applies only to Kosher animals, according to the Tana Kama. Rebbi Yehudah disagrees, because at the time of Yakov Avinu, all animals were Kosher.
7. The Neveilah of a Kosher bird is Metamei a person while he swallows it, but the Neveilah of a non-Kosher bird is not Metamei.
8. Rebbi Yehudah maintains that one who eats the Gid ha'Nasheh of a non-Kosher animal is Chayav twice. According to Rebbi Shimon, he is not Chayav at all.
9. The prohibition of Gid ha'Nasheh applies even to a fetus, according to the Tana Kama. Rebbi Yehudah disagrees.
10. A Nazir who becomes Tamei to a Mes or to an olive's amount of flesh of a Mes must shave, bring Korbanos, and start counting his Nezirus again.
A BIT MORE
1. However, if it can be identified and removed, the other tendons are permitted, provided that the Gid ha'Nasheh ddid not impart taste, according to the Tana of the Mishnah. According to Rebbi Yishmael the son of Rebbi Yochanan ben Berokah, a Gid ha'Nasheh never imparts taste.
2. The Neveilah or non-Kosher fish is not nullified in a majority of Kosher meat or fish, because it is a prominent item that is fit to be served to guests.
3. The taste that is imparted by the Neveilah is dispersed throughout the pot, and therefore the contents of the pot are prohibited only if the Neveilah is large enough to impart its taste to the entire contents of the pot.
4. Although the Kosher piece is forbidden only because it absorbed the taste from the Neveilah, it is now regarded as a Neveilah itself and prohibits the meat in the pot.
5. Therefore, if a piece of Neveilah was cooked with a piece of Kosher meat, although the Kosher meat is the same type, if there is sufficient gravy in the pot to nullify the Neveilah without the help of the Kosher meat, the Neveilah is nullified and the contents of the pot are permitted.
6. According to the Tana Kama, the prohibition of Gid ha'Nasheh was given at Har Sinai with the rest of the Torah, but it was written in the Torah in the same Parshah as the incident of the scuffle between Yakov and the angel.
7. The Neveilah of a bird is not Metamei, with the exception of a Kosher bird which is Metamei a person, along with the garments he is wearing, while he swallows it.
8. According to Rebbi Shimon, the prohibition of Gid ha'Nasheh applies only to a Kosher animal. He also maintains that a Gid ha'Nasheh has no taste and is no different from a piece of wood. Therefore, there is no Chiyuv for eating a Gid ha'Nasheh of a non-Kosher animal.
9. Nevertheless, Rebbi Yehudah maintains that one who eats the Gid ha'Nasheh of a non-Kosher animal is Chayav twice, because the prohibition of Gid ha'Nasheh takes effect in addition to the prohibition of Behemah Tame'ah which was already in effect at the time that it was a fetus, because Gid ha'Nasheh is a Mitzvah that applied prior to Matan Torah.
10. Even if the Mes is a Nefel that did not yet develop tendons and consists of less than an olive's amount of flesh, a Nazir who becomes Tamei to it must start counting again.
Next Daf Index to Revach for Maseches Chulin